Culture.

Posted on January 19, 2012

0




I am a citizen of the world.

I was born in Jamaica and today I live in America. I have only traveled around the world through books, magazine, films and conversations with people from all over. Yet, I consider myself a citizen of the world. I want to travel–to experience culture through my own eyes and ears with my own senses.

I think everyone can agree that its important. It divides us in our differences yet unites us in our curiosities. Cultural expression is beautiful. Cultural misrepresentation, however, is detrimental. Let me tell you what I mean by this.

I travel the world through books, magazines, films and photos. These are all media outlets controlled by few, influencing many. Misinformation through these particular outlets is a powerful thing. We have to actively re-socialize ourselves and those around us.

 

FFT.

Posted in: Culture